shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Indoor Athletics

Page address:

Brock/Otto Hall of Champions

Indoor Athletics Exhibit

Selected objects from the Indoor Athletics exhibit are described below.

Women's Basketball 2009 NCAA Division II National Championship Trophy

Women's Basketball 2008-2009 NCAA Division II National Championship Trophy and team photo. The net from one of the baskets from the championship game (103-94 win over Franklin Pierce University, March 27, 2009 in San Antonio, Tex.)
Facts about this team:

  • First MSU women's basketball National Championship in school history
  • First appearance in the NCAA Elite Eight
  • 2008-09 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Champions - 2nd conference title in school history, first since the 1985-86 season
  • Finished with a 32-2 record - 32 wins are the most in a season at MSU
  • Started the season 17-0 passing the previous mark of 16-0 set by the 1985-86 team
  • Scored 2,763 points for an average of 81.3 points per game - both MSU records
  • Recorded 16 home wins - most in MSU history
  • Team shot 47.2% from the field - new MSU record
  • Ranked #1 in the USA Today/ESPN Division II National Poll for first time in MSU history



1979-1980 NCAA Division II Mens Ice Hockey Championship Trophy and Womens Ice Hockey jersey

1979-80 NCAA Division II National Championship Men's Hockey Trophy - Team coached by Don Brose. Minnesota State has had hockey since the 1969-70 season, when Don Brose started the program. The first teams played outdoors and used old football jerseys for uniforms. But within 10 years, Brose and the Mavericks were celebrating an NCAA Division II national championship. Additional information about the history of the men's Hockey Team is available in the August 2012 issue of Today Magazine.

Women's Hockey jersey #17 worn by Minnesota State University, Mankato, varsity hockey player Jenna Hewitt (Anoka, Minn.), who scored 2-4--6 in 114 games played.



MacNaughton Cup


The MacNaughton Cup is awarded annually to the winner of the league’s regular season championship, and as a traveling trophy, is on display each season at the home of the reigning champion. 

The Mavericks Men’s Hockey Team closed out the regular WCHA season with a 3-0 win at Bemidji State on Saturday, March 7, 2015 claiming the MacNaughton Cup as the 2014-2015 Western Collegiate Hockey Association regular season champions.



Questions about the Hall of Champions

Please contact the University Archives if you have questions about the Hall of Champions.